Custom Digivice – Season 1

It’s Odaiba Day! As well as the 17th anniversary of Digimon Adventure, so I thought it was about time I posted about my season 1 digivice makeover. I FINALLY got it finished after a lot of frustration but I am so happy with the results. Let’s get to it.

TriDigiviceScrn

So, here is my original season 1 Taichi digivice, a lovely orange color, but I wanted to make it look like it does normally when one of the digimon isn’t evolving, just because.

01.1

I mentioned in my last digivice post how difficult it is to get these things apart, but this time the digivice won. I was able to get the back off and the “antenna” out, but no matter what I did or how many internet hacks I used, there was ONE little screw holding the electronics in place that would not budge. I had to put it back together and use some rather elaborate masking to protect the buttons and holes during painting.

01.2

This is when the REAL headaches started. I spray painted the back of the main body and the clip no problem. It came out smooth and beautiful. When I started to paint the front, however, I got this awful crackling reaction in the paint.

01.3

I went back to the internet for answers and decided that the surface had been too hot from sitting in the sun when I started painting. So I sanded away the wrinkles, let the paint that was already on there cure for 24 hours and tried a second time. It happened again! ARGH. I could not figure out what was happening.

Photo Jul 16, 7 25 43 PM

The internet seemed to think that I hadn’t let the first layer of paint cure long enough before painting again, even though on the back of the can it says you can paint again within 4 hours or after 24. So I let it sit for a full TWO WEEKS before I even looked at it again.

While I waited, I finished up painting the belt clip and in the process figured out that I apparently wasn’t shaking the paint can well/long enough before doing my second coat. This is why you follow directions, kids. If you use Krylon Maxx Ultimate Coverage spray paint, shake it longer than the recommended 2 minutes on the back of the can to save yourself the grief. Once I figured that out everything was fine. lol

01.4

I really love the way it looks! I spent 20 minutes in the paint aisle picking out the perfect color (I used Peekaboo Blue), and while I wish it was just slightly more grey, all in all I think its dang near perfect.

TriDigiviceScrn

01.5

Digimon belongs to Akiyoshi Hongo and Toei Animation

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

4 thoughts on “Custom Digivice – Season 1

  1. Hi, you made a awesome work with both D-2 and D3, and that inspired me to do it too, but I like to ask, I just painted the D-2 and then I started thinking on the belt; do the paint stick or damage the belt, or the paint don’t get that damaged? :l
    Greeting and a happy new year tamer :3

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Gerardo! Thank you so much for your comment and question! I’m so glad you were inspired to paint your own digivice after seeing my post. : ) In regards to the belt clip, I have not experienced any transfer of paint to my belt from either digivice, but they have both sustained some minor ware on the edges of the clip. It isn’t something I worry about because it’s on the back so nobody will ever see it! Make sure you seal your paint job with a good clear top coat, let the paint completely cure before use (this can take up to a week), and you shouldn’t have any problems!

      Like

      1. That looks fantastic! Thank you for sharing! It makes me so happy that my little post inspired and helped someone. : D Thank you so much for your kind words!

        Like

Leave a Reply

